Skip to content

It’s The End of Skinny Jeans as We Know It!

December 27, 2009

I have some news. What may seem fantastic to some will seem mournful to others. The era of the Skinny Jean is coming to an end. Now when I say this I don’t mean a complete end. The Skinny Jean will never become extinct, but the trend is dying down, as more comfortable, somewhat free-flowing pants have hit the runway and closets of the truly classy.

What am I talking about? Spring 2010 RTW. Skinny jeans are non-existant. There are traces, however, but I personally think these look way better and less hipster/poser-esque.

Bottega Veneta

Bottega Veneta

Bottega Veneta

Bottega Veneta

As we can see, there is still a trace of skinny fit in these pants, but for the most part, they’re more straight-cut and loose fitting. It makes sense, when we’re entering the warmer months of the year to have less tight fitting clothes on the shelves. One thing I must point out is color. Color is back again, for Spring and Summer. We are starting to see crazy bright colors and softer fabrics, so keep that in mind when you do your Spring shopping.

Rag and Bone

I really like this from Rag and Bone because it’s simple, and still has an element of skinny to it. It’s the perfect transition from supper skinny jeans to more baggy free-form PANTS. I must stress the term PANTS, and not JEANS. Try to pick up more pants and less jeans for the Spring.

Dior Homme

Dior Homme

I like these from Dior Homme because they have an odd shape to them. If you notice, the crotch is more of a harem pants style, than normal pants. The cuff is also a tad bit short, but still looks fierce. In general, the shape is pretty damn fierce.

Versace

Versace

Versace

Now this is a controversial show for me, because it reminds me too much of “Don’t Mess With The Zohan”. The second image seems too “Middle Eastern” (not trying to sound racist), and the third is a HOT MESS. I feel like it’s bridging the gap between bell bottoms from the 70s and the modern man. I don’t like it one bit. But the first one is fine. I think the second one threw me off with the sandals and open shirt. Not a good pair (*Blinding my eyes with hummus*).

Louis Vuitton

I love this one because it’s so simple, and a great fit. I love how the pants are rolled up slightly so you can see the socks up to the ankle. The  shoes are also really cute.

Missoni

Now I don’t really like this one, because it’s really baggy, without the harem pant’s style. Uhhhhhhhh…yah I would stay away from this unless you KNOW you can pull this one off.

XOXO

Luther

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

